About the Committee

The Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament (ISC) was first established by the Intelligence Services Act 1994 to examine the policy, administration and expenditure of the Security Service, Secret Intelligence Service (SIS), and the Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ). The Justice and Security Act 2013 reformed the ISC: making it a Committee of Parliament; providing greater powers; and increasing its remit (including oversight of operational activity and the wider intelligence and security activities of Government). Other than the three intelligence and security Agencies, the ISC examines the intelligence-related work of the Cabinet Office including: the Joint Intelligence Committee (JIC); the Assessments Staff; and the National Security Secretariat. The Committee also provides oversight of Defence Intelligence in the Ministry of Defence and the Office for Security and Counter-Terrorism in the Home Office.

Members of the ISC are appointed by Parliament and the Committee reports directly to Parliament. The Committee may also make reports to the Prime Minister on matters which are national security sensitive.

The Members are subject to Section 1(1)(b) of the Official Secrets Act 1989 and have access to highly classified material in carrying out their duties. The Committee takes evidence from Cabinet Ministers and senior officials – all of which is used to formulate its reports.

Recent Announcements

The Committee's most recent announcements are displayed below. For earlier announcements, or to see more details/attachments, please select 'News Archive' from the navigation bar.
  • 10 May 2018
    The Committee has today sent two Reports  - "Detainee Mistreatment and Rendition: 2001-2010" and "Detainee Mistreatment and Rendition: Current Issues" - to the Prime Minister. These contain the findings and conclusions of the Committee's inquiry into detainee mistreatment and rendition.

    In accordance with the Justice and Security Act 2013, the Prime Minister will now consider whether there is any information in the reports which, if published, would be prejudicial to the continued discharge of the functions of the security and intelligence Agencies. The Committee expects to be in a position to publish the reports next month.

    Posted 10 May 2018, 07:28 by ISC Admin
  • 20 December 2017
    The Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament has today published its Annual Report 2016-2017 and also issued a press release.
    Posted 20 Dec 2017, 02:29 by ISC Admin
  • 23 November 2017
    The Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament (ISC) has met today for the first time in this Parliament and elected the Rt Hon. Dominic Grieve QC, MP as its Chairman.  The Committee also discussed and set out its work priorities for the year ahead and this is detailed in the attached press release.
    Posted 23 Nov 2017, 09:07 by ISC Admin
  • 22 November 2017
    Posted 23 Nov 2017, 09:08 by ISC Admin
  • 17 November 2017

    The following appeared on the House of Commons Votes and Proceedings record for yesterday (Thursday 16 November 2017): 

    8. Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament
    Ordered, That Richard Benyon, Ian Blackford, Caroline Flint, Mr Dominic Grieve, David Hanson, Mr Kevan Jones and Mr Keith Simpson be appointed to the Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament under section 1 of the Justice and Security Act 2013.—(Michael Ellis.)

    The following appeared on the House of Lords Order of Business for Tuesday 21 November 2017: 

    Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament
    The Lord Privy Seal (Baroness Evans of Bowes Park) to move that this House approves the nomination of Lord Janvrin and the Marquess of Lothian as members of the Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament.

    Posted 17 Nov 2017, 02:36 by ISC Admin
Showing posts 1 - 5 of 68. View more »