

## Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament



## PRESS NOTICE

The Rt Hon. the Lord Beamish PC, Chairman of the Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament (ISC), has today provided the following press notice on behalf of the Committee:

"Following correspondence on Tuesday from Ministry of Defence Ministers regarding the loss of data relating to Afghan Relocations and Assistance Policy (ARAP) applicants in February 2022, the Committee has today written to require, under the statutory powers the Committee has in the Justice and Security Act 2013<sup>1</sup>, that Defence Intelligence (DI) and Joint Intelligence Organisation assessments be provided to it immediately, together with any other intelligence assessments as referred to by Mr Justice Chamberlain in his judgement of 15 July, the closed version of the Review by Paul Rimmer, and all other DI material relating to the ARAP scheme.

The Committee has also asked to be provided with the basis on which Government Counsel advised the Court of Appeal that material relating to the data loss could not be shared with this Committee, given that under the Justice and Security Act 2013 classification or sensitivity of material is not grounds on which information can be withheld from the ISC."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Under the Justice and Security Act 2013, the Committee can require information relating to intelligence or security matters from all organisations which it oversees (in relation to ongoing intelligence and security operations, such information is provided voluntarily). The Committee oversees: MI5, the Secret Intelligence Service (SIS), Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ), Defence Intelligence (DI), the Joint Intelligence Organisation (JIO), the National Security Secretariat (NSS), Homeland Security Group (HSG) and the National Cyber Force (NCF).

## NOTES TO EDITORS

- 1. The Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament (ISC) is a <u>statutory committee of</u> <u>Parliament</u>. It is not a Select Committee and has quite different powers and responsibilities.
- 2. The Committee has responsibility for oversight of the intelligence and security activities of the UK Government. Established by the Intelligence Services Act 1994, it was reformed, and its powers significantly reinforced, by the Justice and Security Act 2013.
- 3. The Committee oversees the policies, expenditure, administration and operations of the UK Intelligence Community. This includes the intelligence Agencies MI5, SIS (the Secret Intelligence Service or MI6) and the Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ) as well as: the Joint Intelligence Organisation and the National Security Secretariat in the Cabinet Office; Defence Intelligence in the Ministry of Defence; Homeland Security Group in the Home Office; and the National Cyber Force.
- 4. The Committee can require information to be provided to it. (The limited exception is in relation to information on ongoing intelligence and security operations the Committee can still examine such material, however it is provided voluntarily rather than it being mandatory.)
- 5. The Committee consists of nine Members drawn from both Houses of Parliament, and appointed by Parliament, with the Chair being elected by its Members. The Committee was reconstituted in December 2024, following the July 2024 General Election, and its Members are:

The Rt Hon. the Lord Beamish PC (Chairman) The Rt Hon. Sir Jeremy Wright KC MP (Deputy Chairman) Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE FREng FRS Peter Dowd MP Richard Foord MP The Rt Hon. Sir John Hayes CBE MP Jessica Morden MP Derek Twigg MP Admiral The Rt Hon. Lord West of Spithead GCB DSC PC.

- 6. The Members of the Committee are subject to Section 1(1)(b) of the Official Secrets Act 1989 and are routinely given access to highly classified material in carrying out their duties.
- 7. The Committee sets its own agenda and work programme. It takes evidence from Government Ministers, the Heads of the intelligence and security Agencies, officials from across the UK Intelligence Community, and other witnesses as required. The Committee makes an Annual Report on the discharge of its functions and also produces Reports on specific issues.
- 8. The Committee's dedicated Press Officers can be reached at:

Katie.Armour@cabinetoffice.gov.uk or 07543 302826.